

Climate Action Network - International is a coalition of 500 environment and development non-government organizations committed to limiting human-induced climate change to ecologically sustainable levels.

PRESIDENT OF THE COP H.E. Mr. Lars Lokke RASMUSSEN Prime Minister Denmark

Via email: stm@stm.dk

## 25 January 2010

Re: Schedule of UNFCCC meetings in 2010

### Dear Mr. President:

The failure of Copenhagen to agree a fair, ambitious and binding global deal must be rectified in 2010, with a fair, ambitious and binding global deal being reached at Mexico that is in accordance with the Bali Action Plan.

A lesson from the failure at Copenhagen must be that more preparation is required to get a comprehensive deal.

We urge the UNFCCC Bureau to put in place a schedule of meetings and recommend a program of negotiations that is open, transparent and democratic. In particular allowing most vulnerable countries a strong voice and good representation. The program of negotiations must include key items such as aggregate and individual Annex 1 targets that are in line with keeping warming as far below 2 degrees as possible, being agreed *early* in 2010. The program of work must also include intersessionals early in the year identifying how the KP and LCA tracks will be progressed and how the Copenhagen Accord, including the Copenhagen Green Climate Fund, the Technology Mechanism and the high level Finance Panel, will be incorporated into the two tracks and operationalised under the UNFCCC.

The current meeting schedule in 2010 is not sufficient. At least 2 more intersessionals (at least 3 in all) must be scheduled before COP16/CMP6 to ensure sufficient preparation time. The last year has shown two week intersessionals to be more productive than one week intersessionals. 2009 also illustrated that sufficient preparation is required for the effective participation of Heads of State. In the event that Heads of State attend Mexico, we encourage the Bureau to begin preparation early in the year.

It is essential that COP16/CMP6, and the 2010 negotiation process, allow the engagement of civil society. The UNFCCC Bureau, the UNFCCC Secretariat and the Mexican Presidency must work together to ensure that civil society is able to fill a valuable role in the meeting – rather than being locked outside.

We look forward to working with the Presidency, the Bureau and the UNFCCC Secretariat to ensure that the negotiations in 2010 culminate in a fair, ambitious and binding global agreement.

Sincerely,

Manual /

David Turnbull Director

Climate Action Network - International

Cc:

Felipe de Jesús Celderón Hinojosa

Presidente Constitucional de los Estados Unidos Mexicanos

Residencia Oficial de los Pinos Casa Miguel Alemán

Col. San Miguel Chapultepec, C.P. 11850

Distrito Federal, México 0052 (55) 50935300

Via email: felipe.calderon@presidencia.gob.mx

Mr Yvo de Boer Executive Secretary UNFCCC Secretariat

Via email: secretariat@unfccc.int

Haus Carstanjen

Martin-Luther-King-Strasse 8

53175 Bonn Germany

### VICE-PRESIDENTS OF THE COP 15 BUREAU

H.E. Sr. Luis Alfonso DE ALBA GÓNGORA

Embajador Especial para Cambio Climático

Secretaría de Relaciones Exteriores

Subsecretaría para Asuntos Multilaterales y Derechos Humanos

Via email: mexico@un.int

Plaza Juarez 20, piso 14, Col. Centro,

Delegacion Cauhtemoc CP 06010 Mexico D.F.

Mexico

Mr. Mohammad Salim AL-SABBAN Economic Counselor to the Minister

Ministry of Petroleum and Mineral Resources

Via email: alsabbanms@usa.net

P.O. Box 30304 21477 Jeddah Saudi Arabia

H.E. Mr. Collin BECK

Ambassador and Permanent Representative

Permanent Mission of Solomon Islands to the United Nations, New York

Via email: simun@foreignaffairs-solomons.org

800 Second Avenue, Suite 400L

New York, NY 10017 United States of America

MEMBERS OF THE COP 15 BUREAU

H.E. Mr. Rae-Kwon CHUNG Ambassador for Climate Change Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade 710-1, 37 Sejongno, Jongro-Gu Seoul

Republic of Korea

H.E. Mr. Lumumba Stanislaus-Kaw DI-APING

Ambassador/Deputy Permanent Representative

Permanent Mission of the Republic of Sudan to the United Nations, New York

Via email: sudan@sudanmission.org

305 East 47th Street, 3 Dag Hammarskjöld Plaza, 4th Floor

10017 New York NY

United States of America

Mr. Oleg SHAMANOV

Head of Division, Department for International

Organizations

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Via email: <u>oshamanov@mid.ru</u> Smolenskaya - Sennaya 32/34

119200 Moscow Russian Federation

Mr. Philip WEECH

Director, Bahamas Environment,

Science and Technology Commision (BEST)

Ministry of the Environment Office of the Prime Minister

Via email: <a href="mailto:philipweech@bahamas.gov.bs">philipweech@bahamas.gov.bs</a>

P.O. Box CB 10980

Nassau Bahamas

# **CHAIR OF THE SBI**

Mr. Robert OWEN-JONES

Assistant Secretary, International Division

Department of Climate Change

Via email: Robert.owen-jones@climatechange.gov.au

2 Constitution Avenue 2660 Canberra ACT

Australia

## CHAIR OF THE SBSTA

Mr. Mama KONATÉ

Directeur national de la météorologie, point focal

changements climatiques

Direction nationale de la meteorology

Via email: ma konate@yahoo.com dnm@malinet.ml

mama konate@hotmail.com

B.P. 237 Bamako Mali

## RAPPORTEUR OF THE COP 15 BUREAU

Mr. Andrej KRANJC

Secretary

Ministry of the Environment and Spatial Planning

Via email: andrej.kranjc@gov.si

Dunajska 48 SI-1000 Ljubljana

Slovenia