International Media Briefing: What to Expect from COP20 in Lima

This Tuesday, November 25, experts from Climate Action Network will brief media on expectations for the major UN climate change negotiations of the year, called COP20, due to get underway in Lima, Peru on December 1st. 

This year climate change has rocketed back to the top of the political agenda. Now, can governments harness the momentum, from unprecedented numbers of people taking to the streets in support of scaling up climate action, to make substantive progress on an outline for national climate action commitments and the new international agreement due in Paris next December?  

Off the back of blockbuster reports from the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change and UNEP, which underscore the need to phase out fossil fuels entirely to keep climate change within an agreed threshold, can governments in Lima accelerate the ongoing transition to renewable energies and smarter use of power?
 
What: Civil society experts outline political expectations for the major UN climate negotiations of the year, COP20 in Lima, Peru. 

WhenTuesday, November 25 

  • Call 1 - 9am GMT - 10am Paris - 11am Johannesburg - 2.30pm New Delhi - 5pm Beijing - 8pm Sydney
  • Call 2  - 15pm GMT - 7am San Francisco, 10am New York - 13pm Sao Paulo 

Who: 

Call 1: 

  • Sam Smith, Leader of the Global Climate and Energy Initiative, WWF
  • Mohamed Adow, Senior Climate Change Advisor, Christian Aid

Call 2: 

  • Liz Gallagher, Climate Diplomacy Programme Leader, E3G
  • Sam Smith, Leader of the Global Climate and Energy Initiative, WWF 
  • Jan Kowalwig, Climate Change Advisor, Oxfam Germany

Join:

You can join the teleconference online here: www.uberconference.com/climateactionnetwork or dial the relevant telephone number for your country listed below and enter the conference number: 855-534-4477 followed by the # key when requested.

From the US or via Skype, dial (+1) 855-534-4477 - no PIN required. 
A full list of available telephone numbers can be found here:https://www.uberconference.com/international If your country is not listed, and you cannot join via internet browser, please contact us. 

Contact:
Ria Voorhaar, CAN International, email: rvoorhaar@climatenetwork.org, phone: +49 157 3173 5568

About CAN:
Climate Action Network (CAN) is a global network of over 900 NGOs working to promote government and individual action to limit human-induced climate change to ecologically sustainable levels. More at: www.climatenetwork.org

Tags: 
Organization: